Bestsellers, Science Fiction & Fantasy: December 2017


The Trials of Morrigan Crow (Nevermoor 01)
Jessica Townsend
Wundrous! A breathtaking, enchanting new series by debut author Jessica Townsend, about a cursed girl who escapes death and finds herself in a magical world – but is then tested beyond her wildest imagination… Townsend is a young Sunshine Coast writer (who even worked at Australia Zoo!) and this book has sold internationally to uniformly rave reviews! Holy cow! A gorgeous little hardcover edition ($24.99) is now also available.
YA fantasy | PBK | $16.99


Persepolis Rising (Expanse 07)
James S A Corey
The first in a new story arc in this great sf series. Recommended! (See #5 for the preceding instalment.)
Space opera | TP | $32.99


Behind the Throne (Indranan War 01)
K B Wagers
Former gunrunner-turned-Empress Hail Bristol was dragged back to her home planet to fill her rightful position in the palace. With her sisters and parents murdered, the Indranan Empire is on the brink of war. Hail must quickly make alliances with nearby worlds if she has any hope of surviving her rule. This military space opera series has been hugely popular here. (See #7 for the conclusion of the trilogy.)
Space opera | PBK | $22.99


Pathways (Valdemar anthology)
Mercedes Lackey (editor)
A young woman, without any of the Heralds’ Gifts, must see a Companion safely delivered to Haven… A Herald must revisit the mysteries of his childhood, to save his own young family and combat a threat at the very heart of Valdemar… A Hawkbrother flees for his life, trailed by a mysterious bird that prophesises a dire future… A mage must choose whether to steal a priceless artefact and be branded a thief and traitor, or let his country fall to magic that could prove far deadlier… The eleventh anthology of short stories – set in Mercedes Lackey’s beloved Valdemar universe – features stories by Janny Wurts, Elisabeth Waters, Michele Lang, Fiona Patton, and others; and a brand-new story from Lackey, herself.
Valdemar | PBK | $19.95


Babylon’s Ashes (Expanse 06)
James S A Corey
‘The Expanse series is the best space opera series – running at full tilt, right now…’ – io9. The fantastic TV version has meant sales of this series have gone crazy; but the great stories definitely help… (See #2 for the latest instalment.)
Space opera | TP | $22.99


Vigil (Verity Fassbinder 01)
Angela Slatter
When a fantastic paranormal mystery is set here – in Brisbane (or, as Angela would have it: Brisneyland) – how could we not recommend this above all else? Now in paperback!
Urban fantasy | PBK | $22.99


Beyond the Empire (Indranan War 03)
K B Wagers
The action-packed conclusion to this fantastic trilogy. (See #5 for the first in the series.) Gunrunner-turned-empress Hail Bristol was dragged back to her home planet to take her rightful place at the palace. Her sisters and parents have been murdered, and the empire is reeling from both treasonous plots and foreign invasion. Untangling a legacy of lies and restoring peace will require an empress’ wrath – and a gunrunner’s justice… Hugely popular series. Recommended!
Space opera | PBK | $22.99


La Belle Sauvage (Book of Dust 01)
Philip Pullman
Renowned storyteller Philip Pullman returns to the parallel world of Lyra Belacqua and His Dark Materials for a thrilling and epic adventure – set ten years before events in The Golden Compass – in which dæmons, alethiometers, and the Magisterium all play a part.
YA fantasy | TP | $32.99


Shadow of Victory (Honor Harrington 14)
David Weber
Will this really be the last of Honor? Latest, in probably the most best-selling-est military space opera series in the history of Pulp Fiction. Now in paperback.
Science fiction | PBK | $19.95


Killing Gravity (Voidwitch 01)
Corey J White
A brilliant 176pp novella from an ex-Brisbanite! Highly recommended for fans of Scalzi and Firefly. We. Love. This. So polished – hard to believe it’s a first book! A new instalment of the series, Void Black Shadow, is due around Easter.
Space opera | PBK | $18.99