Bestsellers, Science Fiction & Fantasy: February 2018


Tempests and Slaughter (Numair Chronicles 01)
Tamora Pierce
Arram Draper is on the path to becoming one of the realm’s most powerful mages. The youngest student in his class at the Imperial University of Carthak, he has a Gift with unlimited potential for greatness – and for attracting trouble. At his side are his two best friends: Varice, a clever girl with an often-overlooked talent, and Ozorne, the ‘leftover prince’ with secret ambitions. Together, these three friends forge a bond that will one day shape kingdoms. And as Ozorne gets closer to the throne and Varice gets closer to Arram’s heart, Arram realises that one day – soon – he will have to decide where his loyalties truly lie… ‘Tamora Pierce didn’t just blaze a trail. Her heroines cut a swath through the fantasy world with wit, strength, and savvy. Her stories still lead the vanguard today. Pierce is the real lioness, and we’re all just running to keep pace.’ – Leigh Bardugo, #1 New York Times bestselling author. So much love for Pierce! Still beloved after all these years.
YA fantasy | PBK | $19.99


Into the Fire (Vatta’s Peace 02)
Elizabeth Moon
In this new military SF thriller from the Nebula Award – winning author of Cold Welcome, Admiral Kylara Vatta is back – with a vengeance. Ky beats sabotage, betrayal, and the unforgiving elements to lead a ragtag group of crash survivors to safety on a remote arctic island. And she cheats death after uncovering secrets someone is hell-bent on protecting. But the worst is far from over when Ky discovers the headquarters of a vast conspiracy against her family and the heart of the planet’s government itself.
Space opera | PBK | $22.99


Etched in Bone (The Others 05)
Anne Bishop
One of the few paranormal/urban fantasies that we sell lots of in hardcover! Fans clearly think life is too short to wait for a paperback. If you haven’t tried yet, start with Written In Red (which is in paperback!) and see just what is getting so far under their collective skin…
Urban fantasy | PBK | $19.95


Project Elfhome (Elfhome story collection)
Wen Spencer
Stories exploring the fascinating realm of Elfhome – a world where modern-day Pittsburgh has collided with the kingdom of the Elves; Pittsburgh: a sprawling modern Earth city stranded in the heart of a virgin forest on Elfhome. Sixty thousand humans, 20,000 black-winged tengu, 10,000 elves, an unknown number of invading oni, four unborn siblings of an elf princess, three dragons, and a pair of nine-year-old geniuses. For every story written, there’s a thousand others not told. Lives interweave. Fates intersect. People change one another, often without realising the impact they’ve made on others. They come together like a mosaic, little pieces creating a greater picture… A special entry in the series.
Urban fantasy | PBK | $19.95


Terms of Enlistment (Frontlines 01)
Marko Kloos
The year is 2108, and the North American Commonwealth is bursting at the seams. For welfare rats like Andrew Grayson, there are only two ways out of the crime-ridden and filthy welfare tenements, where you’re restricted to 2,000 calories of badly flavoured soy every day Andrew chooses to enlist in the armed forces for a shot at real food, a retirement bonus, and maybe a ticket off Earth. But as he starts a career of supposed privilege, he soon learns that the good food and decent health care come at a steep price… and that the settled galaxy holds far greater dangers than military bureaucrats or the gangs that rule the slums. This kind of crept up on us – but lots of regulars have been telling us how good the series is (the sixth instalment is just out) – so we’ve been telling everyone about it – and number one is now a bestseller here. Fans of Weber, Honsinger, et al, should enjoy this…
Military SF | TP | $29.95


Aliens Abroad (Aliens 16)
Gini Koch
With the human population growing and alien refugees pouring in from around the galaxy, Earth is becoming too overcrowded to sustain itself – and the solar system is filling up with the alien overflow. Advanced technology from the Alpha Centauri and Vatusan systems offers one possible solution. It’s time to explore new planets and see if any uninhabited ones can be claimed. The discovery of a world at the opposite end of the galaxy that seems like it could be a twin to Earth creates the usual issues for Kitty and Company. It also raises questions of Z’porrah and Ancient influence – not to mention cloning, the multiverse, and, scariest of all, whether or not the Black Hole Universe Police are starting to take too much of an interest in this particular universe… SF-action meets steamy paranormal romance in the Alien novels, as Katherine ‘Kitty’ Katt faces off against aliens, conspiracies, and deadly secrets. The series just sells and sells – and sells…
Science fiction | PBK | $19.95


Killing Gravity (Voidwitch 01)
Corey J White
Before she escaped in a bloody coup, MEPHISTO transformed Mariam Xi into a deadly voidwitch. Their training left her with terrifying capabilities, a fierce sense of independence, a deficit of trust, and an experimental pet named Seven. She’s spent her life on the run, but the boogeymen from her past are catching up with her. An encounter with a bounty hunter has left her hanging helpless in a dying spaceship, dependent on the mercy of strangers. Penned in on all sides, Mariam chases rumours to find the one who sold her out. To discover the truth and defeat her pursuers, she’ll have to stare into the abyss and find the secrets of her past, her future, and her terrifying potential. A brilliant 176pp novella from an ex-Brisbanite! Highly recommended for fans of Scalzi and Firefly. We. Love. This. So polished – hard to believe it’s a first book! A new instalment of the series, Void Black Shadow, is due by the end of March.
Space opera | PBK | $18.99


Neogenesis (Liaden Universe 21)
Sharon Lee & Steve Miller
The Complex Logic Laws were the result of a war waged hundreds of years in the past, when two human powers threw massive AI navies at each other and nearly annihilated themselves. Being human, they blamed their tools for this near miss; they destroyed what was left of the sentient ships, and made it illegal to be, manufacture, or shelter an independent logic. Strangely, however, not all the Free Ships and other AIs did not turn themselves in or suicide, they merely became wary of humans, and stayed under their scans. A clandestine support network grew up, including hidden yards where smart ships were manufactured, and mentors – humans specially trained to ease a new intelligence into the universe – socialised them, and taught them what they needed to know to survive. Now, many have an interest in the newly-awakening Self-Aware Logic that is rumoured to have the power to destroy universes. The question is: Who will get to it first? The Lee and Miller Liaden series have a long and chequered publishing history – going back to the eighties. It’s a really credible universe, with great characters – but the books focus on one or more individuals from the key family groups at a time – rather than just following one protagonist along a linear narrative. If you like Bujold and Moon – you really should try these! The early novels of this series have been reissued as omnibuses by Baen. The best place to start is with either The Dragon Variation or The Agent Gambit.
Space opera | HC | $46.95


The Tethered Mage (Swords & Fire 01)
Melissa Caruso
In the Raverran Empire, magic is scarce, and those born with power are strictly controlled – taken as children and conscripted into the Falcon Army. Zaira has lived her life on the streets to avoid this fate, hiding her mage-mark and thieving to survive. But hers is a rare and dangerous magic, one that could threaten the entire empire. Lady Amalia Cornaro was never meant to be a Falconer. Heiress and scholar, she was born into a treacherous world of political machinations. But fate has bound the heir and the mage. And as war looms on the horizon, a single spark could turn their city into a pyre. ‘Set in a rich world of political intrigue and dangerous magic, The Tethered Mage is a spellbinding debut from a major new talent’ – publisher’s blurb – AND WE AGREE! Sort of a Renaissance Venice vibe about the city/state – it’s lush. Charming new series – recommended!
Fantasy | PBK | $19.99


Scales of Empire (Dragon Empire 01)
Chan, Kylie
Corporal Jian Choumaliis on the mission of a lifetime – security officer on one of Earth’s huge generation ships, fleeing Earth’s failing ecosystem to colonise a distant planet. The ship encounters a technologically and culturally advanced alien empire, led by a royal family of dragons. The empire’s dragon emissary offers her aid to the people of Earth, bringing greater health, longer life, and faster-than-light travel to nearby stars. But what price will the people of Earth have to pay for the generous alien assistance? Latest from the bestselling Queensland author.
Science fiction | TP | $29.99